By way of explanation: to my readers

I thought it might be a good idea to explain what’s going on with Brood Coffee Talk these days.

First, allow me to offer an apology. I know from comments I have received that many of you read this weblog to get an idea what’s going on in the world of technology…specifically, smartphones, tablets and computers.

For the moment, I have temporarily suspended coverage of that topic.

While the obvious question is why, the answer might not be so obvious. Frankly, I got tired of all the back-and-forth sniping and negativity.

I’m not so much talking about any of that from the users of those devices…but rather, from the tech press. For example: each day I’ve been looking, trying to find something good to say about Windows 8. Instead, for the most part, all I saw was the usual “Windows 8 is awful! Microsoft is doomed!” stuff. So, I wrote about that.

I was taught that if you are going to criticize something, you better have a solution–or at least a suggestion for improvement. Whenever I could, I tried to include that.

Windows 8 is not awful–trust me on this. What’s disappointing is how much better it could have been…but it’s not unusable. Heck, even Vista worked for a lot of users.

And I haven’t forgotten about Samsung vs. Apple…or Apple vs. Samsung, or what the freak ever. Both companies are doing quite well, thank you very much. Both make great products and neither is going away any time soon.

All the same is true for Android vs. Apple. In fact, the very cause of my recent intolerance could be due to this argument.

Recently I included an excerpt and link to an Andy Inhatko three-part article about how he switched from iPhone to Android, and his reasoning behind it. This is quite notable in itself, in that he’s been a staunch Apple supporter for many years. I’ve been following him since around 2002, and have a certain respect for his opinion–not because he’s an Apple fan, but because what he says makes sense. So, when he provides good and compelling reasons for making the switch to a competitor, I can find little fault with it.

For the immediate future I’ll be limiting what tech news I feature here. This is not a permanent action, and if anything major happens I’ll still be reporting on it.

In the meantime, please check out my past tech posts, and if you have anything in particular you’d like to see discussed please leave me a comment. And, as always, thanks for reading Brood Coffee Talk.

Live on.

–anasazi4st

Leave a Reply

