Q: What’s the inspiration behind the name ‘Brood Coffee Talk’?

I’ve often been curious how other weblogs have arrived at their names.

The following is from the updated page found on this blog formerly titled, simply, “About.” As I mention below, I saw that a reader was searching online for the meaning of the phrase “Brood Coffee.” So, in the new “About ‘Brood Coffee Talk'” page, I explain it:

WHAT THE TITLE “BROOD COFFEE TALK” MEANS

”The Fusco Brothers,” by J. C. Duffy; March 11, 1992. My apologies for the quality–online archives don’t go back far enough to find a sharper version. This one has been scanned from the timeless copy found on my refrigerator. CLICK TO ENLARGE.

I saw recently that a reader was trying to do an online search for the meaning of the phrase “brood coffee,” so I thought I would explain its origins as I understand them.

When I moved to Tucson in 1987 it wasn’t long before I started reading the Tucson Weekly, a free “countercultural” publication.These tabloids are found across the country under various names and are typically distributed around and within college and university areas. They feature local content such as restaurant, bar, music and concert reviews, and often also have stories on local political issues. Their target audience is generally a more liberal, younger and less “establishment” (’60s word!) audience.

It was through the Weekly that I started following comic strips like J.C. Duffy’s “The Fusco Brothers,” Matt Groening’s “Life In Hell,” Bill Griffith’s “Zippy the Pinhead,” Max Cannon’s “Red Meat,” and so on.

When I was thinking of a name for my new weblog, one that I thought should be catchy but would also help provide a hint as to its content, I remembered the comic strip shown above. I couldn’t use just “Brood Coffee,” however, as a weblog with that name already existed on Blogger.com. So, I gave it some thought, and went through the process: “Coffee Talk…Brood Coffee…Brood Coffee Talk!”

And there you go.

(The above information will remain on the “About…” page for future reference.)

Leave a Reply

