WARNING: New ‘QuickPress’ not safe, can lead to lost WordPress posts

This is a warning to all WordPress users: don’t rely on the QuickPress New Post entry page to write your weblog entries! After working two hours last night on a posting, I hit the “Publish” button and continued on in search of a possible photo. When I returned to WordPress, my entry had vanished…and no, it did neither publish nor autosave. Two hours of writing and careful editing gone.

QuickPress New Post page: This is the one you want to avoid, at least until they fix the bugs. Even WordPress’ own Help staff recommend not using it. (This image is from my WordPress account, note the symbol above.)

I spent the next half hour frantically revisiting my internet History, searching for a page that might still have what I’d written so I could copy and paste it. What a waste of time that was. Then, even though it was late, I tried to hurriedly retype the post while it was still fresh in my mind.

(To those who follow my posts here: that’s the reason you received an email that I had just published a new post called “Apple’s,” but yet there was nothing there. It was a test to see if I had done something wrong…that time it worked like it was supposed to, and then I deleted it. The lost posting was the one about Apple’s Scott Forstall that I have since written and published.)

This problem is further detailed here…apparently there is a bug that doesn’t allow Autosaves, so if you lose the post, you’re out of luck. Fortunately, this shouldn’t happen with the full-sized Add New Post window, which does have autosaves:

Quickpress not autosaving, lost post

I just spent an hour typing up a long blog post, complete with images and a number of hyperlinks. I did this in the quickpress section and inadvertently clicked on settings. When I went back the post was blank and it hasn’t been autosaved so isn’t in my drafts. I really need this back, please can you help.
Blog url: http://thatrogersguy.wordpress.com/

Unfortunately, if it’s not in drafts and also not in Trash, you’re out of luck. That quickpress thing doesn’t kick in the autosave, and it has a tendency to do this. We volunteers never recommend it.

Thanks, that’s a real pain. Won’t be using the quickpress thing again, guess my fault for doing a long post on something designed for a quick one. Will have to rewrite it tonight. Thanks for the help.

Anyone who has written anything in an online text box knows that it’s like a UFO, a unicorn or Bigfoot–you’d better get a picture of it before it’s gone for good! It’d be a really good idea to copy and paste it into a text editor or word processor.

I have spent much time typing text into just such an entry box, over the years, only to lose it all when I switch window tabs or the Internet gets a hiccup or the machine locks up/becomes unresponsive. I swear I won’t do it again…and later on I do, somewhere else, because the temptation is too great to just quickly type something. Problem is, most times it’s not quick, and then it’s all gone.

Losing all of what you’ve spent time working on isn’t very much fun. There’s that sickening feeling, the same one you get when you realize you’ve probably left your cellphone or wallet on the roof of the car as you’re driving on the freeway. And the uncertainty is sickening as well, like you might have left it at the grocery store ten miles away (and getting farther away by the second). It’s like a cyber punch in the stomach.

There’s an expression I like to use about lost data, and it’s rarely failed me. It’s from somewhere else and I don’t know where, or I would graciously give credit to its creator:

“There are two kinds of people in this world: those who have lost data…and, those that will.”

Here’s how I handle the commercial business posts that I write: first I create and edit them in a word processing app like Pages or Scrivener or (ugh) Word, then I paste them into the WordPress Add New Post box, from the Dashboard. I can’t afford to lose those!

From now on, I’m going to do the same with my BroodCoffeeTalk posts:  Write elsewhere, then cut and paste into WordPress.

But never into the QuickPress box. Confound that accursed box!

One thought on “WARNING: New ‘QuickPress’ not safe, can lead to lost WordPress posts

  1. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after reading through
    some of the post I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely delighted I
    found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

Leave a Reply

