Finding others on WordPress…and myself

I’ve not been doing this very long, this WordPress project. I’ve been very fortunate to have others here find my postings, “like” them and follow me. (And thanks to each of you for that.) In return, I have visited their blogs, found them interesting, liked them in return.

One of my followers has gathered over 100 of his own followers in his short time here. Someone asked him in his blog’s Comments section how he got so many, so quickly. He responded that he just started looking at others’ weblogs–liking, commenting and following–and in turn they did the same for him.

I wish I had the time for that. I’ve got four websites/blogs to write entries for, and while only one has me on a schedule to produce one post a day, I made a promise to myself that I would try and post here on Brood Coffee Talk on a daily basis. Unfortunately, that doesn’t always occur.

(Fortunately It is much easier to receive feedback on WordPress, which makes posting easier. I’ve had several other websites in the past ten years, and oftentimes I have felt like there were crickets chirping when I published a post, and for days afterward.)

I don’t happen upon the information I write here by accident. I receive emails several times a day with digests of tech stories from several major publications. I have a Trending List that one of the blogs I write for sends me twice a day. I receive three magazines every month, two of which are tech-related. And, there’s Twitter, although I am days behind on that and seemingly am always trying to catch up.

My point is: I want to explore the world of WordPress, not just because I want followers (although that’s okay too), but because the different experiences add more hues and colors to one’s own perceptions. And, I will find time for that.

A great example of exploring other’s works is the WordPress blog Craig’s List of Writings. I was reading comments on another writer’s page and saw his post, complimenting the author for his work. Something he had included in his signature, though, from his blog is what struck me–and the real reason for writing this post:

“As things stand now, I am going to be a writer. I’m not sure that I’m going to be a good one or even a self-supporting one, but until the dark thumb of fate presses me to the dust and says, ‘you are nothing’, I will be a writer.”

(Hunter Thompson June 3, 1959, in a letter to Roger Richards, in The Proud Highway: Saga of a Desperate Southern Gentleman, 1955-1967)

I read that, and read it again. And, I read it yet again, letting my mind caress each word and absorb its meaning, the same way one would allow the smoke of a fine cigar to remain in one’s mouth, the same way one might allow the superb blending of a fine single-malt Scotch or quality brandy to roll around on one’s tongue.

I graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science and English. The first discipline was my main focus…and, when it became obvious that I wasn’t interested in a career in either politics or law enforcement–or meant for one either–I spent an extra year studying English. I’d always had an interest in it, so I figured–why not?

I wrote for the college paper, but it was far too late in my college years for me to pursue journalism as a career (and, my university added that as a major several years after I graduated). I applied for such jobs, but nothing came of it.

Then, I got involved in Sales. First, it was retail…then, I was traveling with route sales all over the Western US. Frequently I was asked by friends who had known me for a while, “Are you writing?” And, I was not. There was always some excuse…I put it off. I started first one website and then another, but that didn’t provide the satisfaction I craved.

Then, the mythical “one day” happened. I saw an ad online for someone who was needed to write a tech blog online. I applied…and was hired! Using that experience and the conversational and communicative ability that brought me success in my Sales career, I was able to get the second job, then the third. (I guess it didn’t hurt that they must have thought that I could write okay.)

At last, I felt like I was doing what was always there for me, but I kept pushing it away. I was lucky–like a good woman, the talent thankfully stuck around until I was ready to stop rejecting it and embrace it.

This is my second career now…or, I would like it to be. There are stories of famous people who drifted from one thing to the next until at last they found what they wanted, were good at it, and were able to make a living doing it.

I’m not saying I’m going to be famous. I agree with what fellow WordPress writer Chris Martin says: I’m not looking to make millions of dollars doing this…just a good living would be fine, enough to support my family. And I’m still in the early goings of this career, so who knows what will eventually happen.

I do know this: after all I have been through in the last five decades, often wondering if I would ever be able to sit down and write, to finally accept and stop making excuses as to why I can’t or won’t…I do know this, this one thing:

“I’m not sure that I’m going to be a good one or even a self-supporting one, but until the dark thumb of fate presses me to the dust and says, ‘you are nothing’, I will be a writer.”

Please bear witness with me.

Leave a Reply

