Mila Kunis is a great actress–and ‘Esquire’ magazine’s ‘Sexiest Woman Alive 2012’

Okay, before we get out of hand here, listen up.

Mila Kunis is a great actress. That’s the first part of this headline. Because…well, because she is. It’s hard to have a different opinion when you’ve seen her play the crazy Lily (The Black Swan) in the film Black Swan, or the street-smart wiser-than-her-years Solara in The Book of Eli. There was the role that got her noticed–the rich and selfish Jackie Burkhart in That 70s Show. That’s harder than it looks–for an intelligent teenage girl to play a shallow character that thinks that all of her friends–read: and most of the world–are not as attractive as she is and therefore beneath her.

And then–yes, then there is the part where she is a very attractive woman with–to many men–a strong sex appeal.

The feature can be found here…be warned that there is some strong language found in her interview, and an optional video window showing a sexually-themed photo and video shoot with lingerie. Anyone offended by a few f-bombs, a small amount of other mature language and moving images of a pretty woman scantily clad might want to consider carefully before visiting the site.

The following excerpt has no such issues:

She got her start by being funny, at least in the Hollywood sense.

As a teenager she was the funniest part of a successful sitcom (That ’70s Show). Then a supporting part in a small but successful romantic comedy (Forgetting Sarah Marshall). Then things took a gritty turn, a meaty role in a bigger movie alongside a huge star (The Book of Eli, Denzel Washington) and a startling performance as a crazy and manipulative diva in Black Swan, which happened to involve kissing another woman. Then another romantic comedy, a starring role with Justin Timberlake in the successful Friends with Benefits.

It’s been a busy career so far, but its trajectory is perhaps not unusual for a beautiful, talented actress in her late twenties. What is unusual is the story of her life before she was cast in her first commercial at age nine (after being discovered at a child-actor showcase by the woman who still manages her).

She was eight, in 1991, when she immigrated with her parents and her brother from Ukraine to escape anti-Semitism and the turmoil that came with the collapse of the Soviet Union. Her family moved into a two-bedroom, one-bath apartment in Los Angeles, at the corner of Sweetzer and Melrose, right in the heart of West Hollywood. Mom, Dad, brother, grandfather and grandmother, her other grandfather, and her. They lived there for about four years as her parents worked jobs quite different from the professional careers they’d abandoned back home. It’s not the usual tale of a young Hollywood star. Who wouldn’t want to talk about it?

I’ve talked about it for so long. If you can find something in it that I haven’t disclosed …

You seem bored by this. Do you find it not very interesting?

I find it incredibly interesting, but I want you to go walk down Fairfax. And every. Single. One. Of those people has a similar story. My immigration story is being made into something bigger than it needs to be.

Do you think it’s being fetishized a little bit?

Completely. It has nothing to do with me. I feel awful talking about it, because my parents should sit down and talk about it. They’re the ones who went through hell and back, who gave everything up. I didn’t do anything. I was eight years old, and I tagged along. And my parents made me feel safe. I didn’t make those decisions. So I can’t take responsibility for it. Every immigrant has a story. “And in 1991 during the fall of communism…” Everybody has a story. Let me just repeat: I was eight years old. I didn’t know what was happening.

But you have memories.

Well, hold on. I don’t know how much of those are my memories and how much of it is a memory I created through the stories that my parents tell. And I don’t know how to differentiate between an honest memory or my parents retelling the same story for twenty years.

If you can, read the interview. It’s not like many: a sit-down with a beautiful woman who is also intelligent. Instead, it’s an interview with an intelligent woman–who just happens to be beautiful.

Leave a Reply

