‘Experts Exchange’ ‘hits a new low’ in editorial coverage

Okay, let’s be fair. Some of you like Brand A, and some of you like Brand B. That’s all well and good.

What’s NOT all well and good is when a person writes things about Brand B that are full of–at best–half-truths, exaggerations and opinions instead of facts. In the Internet world, we call this practice “link baiting”: getting people to read your site because you’ve written stuff that’s overly biased and is expressly designed to provoke a response.

It works kind of the same way a local TV station starts its evening news with a sensationalized story about something within the community that is designed to hit a nerve. Then, they make you wait until the end of the newscast to find out that–hey, well it wasn’t really that bad after all.

In the radio talk show business, a host will deliberately take up a strong contrary opinion and push it hard just to get people to call in and tell him he is an idiot. It gets him listened to, and the stations that carry him get ratings.

It’s like taunting, and then standing back and saying, “Why are y’all upset at little ol’ me? What did I do?”

Commercial websites make money when people visit them. The more people you can get to visit, the better. This causes (and has caused) some of the most ridiculous and outlandish opinions to get posted…people can’t believe what author X said, they tell people who tell others, and so on.

For many years, there has been a respected voice in the tech industry for years called Experts Exchange. Here, technicians, help desk individuals, and so on from all over the world can write in and get answers to questions and problems that they are having with clients’ and customers’ computers, software, etc. While they are generally PC users, they have been, for the most part, fair and objective towards Mac and Linux users over the years. (I shouldn’t even have to say it that way, but when you see what’s coming you’ll understand why.)

That’s all out the window now.

This post, by a person who apparently has nightmares about millions of iPhones chasing and dismembering her, or worse–or using the new Maps app and being given the wrong directions so that she drives to an unfamiliar place where there are millions of iPhones just waiting to dismember her (or worse), is amongst the worst articles I have ever read. Anywhere. Ever.

I’m not going to through and debate it point-by-point. You’ll notice I didn’t say it was full of lies, just half-truths. An interpretation of the facts. And I’m not sure why the author has such  a condescending tone–must be those iPhone nightmares.

However, I must point out that the more I go on and on about it, the more the author has succeeded: we are talking about it.

All I would ask–all I think anyone would–is to try and be fair and objective. We can agree to disagree, as the saying goes. Just don’t write a bunch of crap–sorry, but that’s what I think it is–just to get some people to read your site.

I could do that…but I’d miss being able to look at myself in the mirror when I get up in the morning.

The New York Daily News and The New York Post–and any number of supermarket checkout tabloids–have done this sort of thing for years, and done it well.

I didn’t think I’d ever see you sitting there with them, Experts Exchange!

2 thoughts on “‘Experts Exchange’ ‘hits a new low’ in editorial coverage

  1. “HOW DARE YOU INSULT APPLE! I’VE BOUGHT ALL THEIR PRODUCTS!!!” – Someone very susceptible to advertising before breaking down and sobbing.

    You accuse half-truths and falsehoods yet you are criticizing an article with links and references to back-up claims while your article contains only one: the “bait”. It’s like you are working for the company. Experts-Exchange should send you a thank you card.

    A cursory glance at your other articles paints a very clear picture of your motivations and reasons for this silly post. Good work breaking the fanboy mold anasazi4st; we’re all very impressed and think you are very cool for owning Apple products.

    • Tristan:

      Thank you for your reply. If you had done more than a “cursory glance” at my site you would have seen that I’ve also had favorable comments about Windows 7 and Samsung–among others–on more than one occasion.

      You would have also seen that I own far fewer Apple products than those from other companies–HP, Dell and IBM names grace some of my other ones, and of the 50 or more computing devices I have, only about a dozen or so are from Apple.

      You clearly missed the point of this post: it was the lack of objectivity that caused my comments. I’d already said that I was not going to respond point-by-point to it, and that the arguments within it were mostly based on fact but that the way those facts are portrayed can be misleading.

      While I of course cannot speak for the other individuals that responded, I think a “cursory glance” would show that I was not the only one upset by the posting and its message.

      I’d like to thank you again for your response…and thank you for helping to make my point for me. Your obvious dislike for those who own Apple products (with no apparent reason given for it, other than that they just DO) is really priceless.

Leave a Reply

